Scottish Weather Network Forum

General Information => General Discussion => Topic started by: Shetland Coastie on June 22, 2013, 07:35:54 PM



Title: Using two ISS's
Post by: Shetland Coastie on June 22, 2013, 07:35:54 PM
Hi there

I have two Vantage Vue ISS's. One of which is fairly new, the other a bit older, was broken and has now been repaired and working again. Is it possible to use two on the same console using different transmitter ID's? What I'd like to do is use one low down for temp/rainfall etc and one on a pole for windspeed & direction. Can I use the wind one to supply wind data only similar to what you would do with an anemometer transmitter kit and anemometer following the same sort of set-up procedure as outlined in the Davis manual for such a setup.


Title: Re: Using two ISS's
Post by: Budgie on June 23, 2013, 11:44:05 AM
I'm not sure to be honest, I've not read about anyone using two on the same console.
Using the configuration you're looking at, I can't see why it wouldn't work, as long is the rain, temp & hum data from the top one doesn't conflict with the other one.

Try asking on Weather-Watch as there maybe someone who's tried it or the likes of ProData, who sells them, my know.  ;)


Title: Re: Using two ISS's
Post by: Budgie on June 23, 2013, 12:04:37 PM
See, what did I say about ProData??  ;D

Quote
Yes that will be fine. Obviously you'll only be able to receive wind data from the one high up that's being used as the Anemometer Transmitter.

Let us know how it goes.  ;)


Title: Re: Using two ISS's
Post by: Shetland Coastie on June 23, 2013, 06:34:57 PM
Yup lol  ;D

I didn't see why not after all it's the same radio signal and data just using a slightly different set-up but like I said it's nice to have it confirmed.


Title: Re: Using two ISS's
Post by: Shetland Coastie on June 25, 2013, 11:37:21 PM
All set up and configured now all I need is some wind! For a change up here it's absolutely flat calm, although I do notice the direction is twitching occasionally so there must be some wind it'll just be below the 3kt threshold. Typical, I need to se that its working properly and theres no wind!!!


Title: Re: Using two ISS's
Post by: Budgie on June 27, 2013, 02:54:28 PM
Never happy are you!!  :D

Well I hope it all works OK and it should give you better temp, hum & rain figures as well.  ;)