Scottish Weather Network Forum
January 21, 2018, 06:41:12 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The Scottish Weather Network now has 57 member stations!
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Webcams  (Read 5095 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Shetland Coastie
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« on: August 23, 2010, 08:08:53 AM »

Hi

Im trying to get a webcam organised for my website and Im just about tearing out what little hair I have left in frustration!! As I understand it, there are two ways of doing this, either stream the live video (but that takes up a lot of bandwidth) or FTP a sequence of snapshots at regular intervals ( say every 10 minutes or so). I cant seem to get either sorted?? I have a choice of two cams, one is a bog standard webcam - the software for which does not seem to have the facility to produce regular snapshots automatically, you have to take them manually and you cant seem to stream the video. The other is an IP Camera which uploads the picture to an IP address. But just telling my website to point to that IP address doesnt seem to work either. Ive also tried the facility within weather display to add an IP camera and it keeps getting chucked out when its logging into the web adress with a message saying "error IP camera is either down or the url is incorrect" which is cobblers because a. the camera is working and b.the url is correct.

If anyone can give me a "how to" on how to get this set up I would be most grateful!

Bob
Logged
skyewright
Administrator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 378


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 09:19:22 AM »

If anyone can give me a "how to" on how to get this set up I would be most grateful!
The "how to" probably depends a lot on the "with what".

What are the exact models of the webcams you are trying to use?
Logged

Regards
David
Shetland Coastie
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2010, 09:22:53 AM »

I have an Edimax IC-1500 IP Camera and the other is a ArcSoft webcam.
Logged
skyewright
Administrator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 378


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 01:39:26 PM »

I have an Edimax IC-1500 IP Camera and the other is a ArcSoft webcam.
Sorry, I don't know anything about either of those models.  Sad
Logged

Regards
David
Tugmistress
Cirrus
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 145



WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2010, 07:07:02 AM »

Hi Bob,
I use a free programme off the net for all 3 webcams on my site, it's dead easy to set up, do a google for easyfreewebcam. if i can manage it then you'll have no problem Smiley
i can't work out the wdisplay lark for webcams at all!
Logged
Shetland Coastie
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2010, 02:24:19 PM »

Yay! Got it sorted. Webcam now up and running and it refreshes every 5 mins: http://gulberwickweather.co.uk

 Grin Grin Grin Grin
Logged
skyewright
Administrator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 378


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2010, 05:16:17 PM »

Yay! Got it sorted. Webcam now up and running and it refreshes every 5 mins: http://gulberwickweather.co.uk
Well done. Nice colour quality on the picture.   Smiley
Logged

Regards
David
Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2010, 11:29:36 PM »

Nice one Bob.
I've updated the map etc as requested.  Wink
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
count