Scottish Weather Network Forum
January 24, 2018, 07:25:36 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The Scottish Weather Network now has 57 member stations!
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: WXSIM  (Read 11359 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
weathermaster
Cirrus
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 181



« on: January 09, 2011, 01:10:02 PM »

Hi,

I remember being told by Martin when you helped me in the past with stuff about 'WXSIM'. I was wondering if the 'WXSIM/WXSIMATE, standard mode, basic customization' would be the best choice for me. I want to just run it for local forecasts not sure if you can forecast for more than one place but that doesn't matter. Also I want to send the forecasts when I update them to my website. Would the Standard mode be able to do all this? Or do I need to choose something else and get something to help upload it to my site?

Any help would be great.

Sean.
Logged
carseman
Global Moderator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 168


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2011, 01:34:53 PM »

Sean,
Both versions of WXSIM produce the forecast data files that you can use to put a forecast on your website. Tom has a good description on choosing the version of WXSIM that is right for you here: http://wxsim.com/modelevs.htm. As I read it, you do not have the ability for WXSIM to "learn" in the standard verson as opposed to the "pro" version.  Tom also has the generous upgrade path between versions, simply for the difference in price.  It is worth emailing him, decribing your setup, location and telling him what  you want to do. He will give you very fair advice.

Chris
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 01:37:10 PM by carseman » Logged
Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2011, 01:47:24 PM »

Tom will customise the software for your location, so the forecast will only be for your local area.
If you run WXSim & WXSimate on the same PC as WD then you can use WD to upload the files to your website.
Apart from that, I'd go with Chris's advice.  Wink
Logged

weathermaster
Cirrus
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 181



« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2011, 02:44:07 PM »

Thanks guys just sent him an email explaining my location and set up.

While I wait for the reply I've heard WXSIM is really accurate would agree?
Logged
Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2011, 11:07:37 PM »

I wouldn't use it otherwise, Sean.  Grin

For the local area it much more accurate than the Met Office and I have fishermen using my forecast instead of the likes of XC Weather.  Wink
Logged

skyewright
Administrator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 378


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2011, 10:45:55 AM »

For the local area it much more accurate than the Met Office and I have fishermen using my forecast instead of the likes of XC Weather.  Wink
Same here...

I've also been told that some of the local B&B's print out my forecast each morning for their guests!

I do hope they've all read the "Never base important decisions on this..." disclaimer...
Logged

Regards
David
weathermaster
Cirrus
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 181



« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2011, 03:59:13 PM »

I've been using the standard version of WXSIM for the last 2 weeks and I have found it accurate. A few questions though. First I run the Auto setting but I notice when its finished it says because it was done automatically it may be less accurate, even though I have found it to be accurate I was wondering if you have any tips when you do the 'full' forecast? Instead of the auto one.

Second thing is when you download data from a weather station mine has been set up to download Tiree's weather data. I have the button checked on GFS aswell so does that mean it will download the GFS as well with the data?

Third and probably the one I need most help with is at the moment I'm just copying and pasting the forecasts onto my website at the moment twice a day. I know you can get a script to do this for you but I tried it and it didn't work because how does WXSIM send its forecast to my website?

Any help on the above would be great.
Logged
Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2011, 07:43:13 PM »

The warning is there for info only. I always use the auto run but with the manual run it allows you to give a better indication of things like cloud height and cloud amount.

On WXSimate I have the following ticked to download:
METAR + the "First instance only" tick box
FSU
SYNOP
GFS model data
GFS for advection
ROAB
Ozone (right at the bottom)

As you have Weather Display you can set WXSimate to download from there. On the right hand side at the top you'll see "Import from local weather station" & in the text box marked "Local station data directory" you put the location on your PC of the Weather Display Logfiles folder, in my case it's C:\wdisplay\logfiles
Then it should pick up the data from your station, rather than Tiree.  Wink

You can use WD to upload the plaintext.txt file: Control Panel > FTP & Connections > General FTP Functions. Now click on an unused setup (1,2 or 3) and click "Choose the file", navigate to your WXSim program folder and find the plaintext.txt file. Now setup the local name for the file, I would keep it as "plaintext.txt" and set the upload times to 10 minutes after your forecast creation times.
If you're doing it manually then just click on the "Test" button to upload. 
Logged

weathermaster
Cirrus
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 181



« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2011, 09:06:49 PM »

Thanks got my station importing data now for over a month working good.

Today I've been trying to install the wxsim forecast script onto my site but it doesn't seem to be working. I've uploaded the images to my site in public html.

This is what I've done in the settings.
Quote
$iconDir ='http://barraweather.com/wxsimforecast2/forecast/images/';           // directory for carterlake icons
$WXSIMstation = "www.barraweather.com";   // name of your weather station
$plaintextFile = 'http://barraweather.com/attachments/plaintext.txt';       // location of the WXSIM plaintext.txt

And also this further down,

Quote
$useCharSet = 'iso-8859-1';
$UTFLang = ',gr,ru,cn,jp,';  // languages needing UTF-8 character set for display
$timeFormat = 'd-M-Y h:i a'; // default to USA format
// load the config file
$config = file("http://barraweather.com/wxsimforecast2/forecast/images/plaintextparserdata.php");  //
// load and merge the language file (if it exists)
if ($doTranslate and file_exists("./plaintext-parser-lang-$lang.txt") ) {
  $lfile = file("./plaintext-parser-lang-$lang.txt");
  foreach ($lfile as $val) {
    array_push($config,$val);

Not sure if thats all your meant to do or if I'm doing it right but its not working.
Logged
carseman
Global Moderator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 168


WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2011, 10:02:40 PM »

Sean,
What is the URL of your forecast page and also of plaintext-parser.php ?

Chris
Logged
weathermaster
Cirrus
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 181



« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2011, 10:53:50 PM »

Hi,

Forecast page url http://www.barraweather.com/page1.php

Plaintext-parser.php http://barraweather.com/attachments/plaintextparser.php

I just get this,
Quote
Warning: file(http://barraweather.com/wxsimforecast2/forecast/images/plaintextparserdata.php) [function.file]: failed to open stream: Connection refused in /home/sites/barraweather.com/public_html/page1.php on line 221
Warning: reset() [function.reset]: Passed variable is not an array or object in /home/sites/barraweather.com/public_html/page1.php on line 289
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/sites/barraweather.com/public_html/page1.php on line 291
The WXSIM forecast is not currently available.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 11:05:11 PM by weathermaster » Logged
carseman
Global Moderator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 168


WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2011, 12:46:47 PM »

Sean,
plaintext-parser-data.txt is normally placed in the same directory as plaintext-parser.php. I note that you have removed hypens from filenames. Try renaming your plaintextparserdata.php to plaintextparserdata.txt and placing it in the same directory as your plaintextparser.php.
Then edit
Code:
// load the config file
$config = file("http://barraweather.com/wxsimforecast2/forecast/images/plaintextparserdata.php");  //
// load and merge the language file (if it exists)
to
Code:
// load the config file
$config = file("./plaintextparserdata.txt");  //
// load and merge the language file (if it exists)
This assumes that you have not added any special code to your plaintextparserdata.php.
Chris
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 12:49:28 PM by carseman » Logged
weathermaster
Cirrus
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 181



« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2011, 02:48:38 PM »

Thanks.

I've done what you said to do and found out the file names were wrong so changed them.

But its just saying on the forecast page 'The WXSIM forecast is not currently available.' Not sure what may be causing this?

My settings.
Quote
$iconDir ='http://www.barraweather.com/wxsimforecast2/forecast/images/';           // directory for carterlake icons
$WXSIMstation = "BarraWeather";   // name of your weather station
$plaintextFile = 'http://www.barraweather.com/attachments/plaintext.txt';       // location of the WXSIM plaintext.txt

Just to let you know plain text parser and the data file are both in the same directory but the images and plain text file aren't.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 02:51:19 PM by weathermaster » Logged
carseman
Global Moderator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 168


WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2011, 03:24:43 PM »

Sean,
I cannot find your plaintext-parser.php or plaintext-parser-data.txt can you let me know where they are now (either here or by PM)

Chris
Logged
weathermaster
Cirrus
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 181



« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2011, 04:05:05 PM »

Here,

http://barraweather.com/plaintext-parser-data.txt

http://barraweather.com/plaintext-parser.php
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!