Scottish Weather Network Forum
January 22, 2018, 08:34:15 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the Scottish Weather Network Forum
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using two ISS's  (Read 5130 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Shetland Coastie
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« on: June 22, 2013, 07:35:54 PM »

Hi there

I have two Vantage Vue ISS's. One of which is fairly new, the other a bit older, was broken and has now been repaired and working again. Is it possible to use two on the same console using different transmitter ID's? What I'd like to do is use one low down for temp/rainfall etc and one on a pole for windspeed & direction. Can I use the wind one to supply wind data only similar to what you would do with an anemometer transmitter kit and anemometer following the same sort of set-up procedure as outlined in the Davis manual for such a setup.
Logged
Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2013, 11:44:05 AM »

I'm not sure to be honest, I've not read about anyone using two on the same console.
Using the configuration you're looking at, I can't see why it wouldn't work, as long is the rain, temp & hum data from the top one doesn't conflict with the other one.

Try asking on Weather-Watch as there maybe someone who's tried it or the likes of ProData, who sells them, my know.  Wink
Logged

Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2013, 12:04:37 PM »

See, what did I say about ProData??  Grin

Quote
Yes that will be fine. Obviously you'll only be able to receive wind data from the one high up that's being used as the Anemometer Transmitter.

Let us know how it goes.  Wink
Logged

Shetland Coastie
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2013, 06:34:57 PM »

Yup lol  Grin

I didn't see why not after all it's the same radio signal and data just using a slightly different set-up but like I said it's nice to have it confirmed.
Logged
Shetland Coastie
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2013, 11:37:21 PM »

All set up and configured now all I need is some wind! For a change up here it's absolutely flat calm, although I do notice the direction is twitching occasionally so there must be some wind it'll just be below the 3kt threshold. Typical, I need to se that its working properly and theres no wind!!!
Logged
Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2013, 02:54:28 PM »

Never happy are you!!  Cheesy

Well I hope it all works OK and it should give you better temp, hum & rain figures as well.  Wink
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
count