Scottish Weather Network Forum
October 18, 2018, 11:15:17 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SCWN has updated the Mesomap with new features, like the inclusion of Gust Speed, Dew Point, station's home town name.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OK need a bit of advice that have been at this longer than I - Satilite & Radar  (Read 1398 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Gogs
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



WWW
« on: June 04, 2008, 03:29:04 AM »

I am putting together a weather website, and if I may say it'd coming together pretty well.

Thanks for which must the must be the best, simplest, insructions I have ever found on installing anything as to how to install MestMap.

As said I need a bit of advice and help.

I would like to have either RADAR (sort of live looking) and or satellite images on my website. Preferably not for North America (that's easy), but for Scotland.

Any suggestions how to achieve this without spending a fortune on launching a personal satellite. Suppose I could Call it TelstarKilt. Grin
Logged

Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 533



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2008, 09:53:32 AM »

If you look at the Radar page on the SCWN website, the rainfall radar are taken from Meteox (who's site seems to be down today  Undecided ) and the satellite is from Austrocontrol which I download every 30 minute and then use Weather Display to animate & upload it to the site.
The instructions for downloading & animating using WD are HERE.

If you don't mind paying for the service then there's the likes of Netweather but not much else for us over here.  Undecided
Logged
Gogs
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2008, 05:16:10 PM »

Have not attempted the Radar yet, but having problems with Satelitte using Austrocontrol and WD.

As you can see I am generating a blank frame or two.



I am using 10 images with a 30 second display.

The 10 images are in the download folder.

Any Suggestions?
Logged

munrobaggins
Global Moderator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 202



« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2008, 06:01:48 PM »

That was a feature of the WD software until a new build recently...what version of WD are you using?
Logged

Regards,

Baggins
Gogs
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2008, 06:05:14 PM »

The WD version is 10.37k Build 01
Logged

munrobaggins
Global Moderator
Cirrus
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 202



« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2008, 06:09:07 PM »

I think that 1037k b05 may have been meant to fix that problem...see the version info here
Logged

Regards,

Baggins
Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 533



WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2008, 06:11:08 PM »

Reduce the number of images to 8 and see what happens.
I started using 10 but it didn't seem to like it but reducing to 8 got is looking nice.

The update that Brian did on the animation was to get shot of the little cloud image in the top left corner which was caused by a coding problem. If you download the zip version from the WD wedsite then that should go as well.  Wink
Logged
Gogs
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2008, 06:17:27 PM »

Thanks guys,

I'll fownload the newer build and see how things go. If it's still a problem I reduce the number to 8.
Logged

Gogs
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2008, 12:11:23 AM »

Downloaded and installed, works perfect. Think I will try 20 frames.

Thanks for your help.
Logged

Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 533



WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2008, 12:57:51 AM »

Don't forget that you need to give it time to assemble all the files so you will get blanks to start with.  Wink
Logged
Gogs
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2008, 12:49:48 AM »

If you look at the Radar page on the SCWN website, the rainfall radar are taken from Meteox (who's site seems to be down today  Undecided )
I googled Meteox and found there site. Latched onto the wrong jpg, typical of I.

What is the address of the image you import for Radar?
Logged

Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 533



WWW
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2008, 12:57:41 AM »

If you go onto the SCWN page and do right click on the image, then Properties the full URL will be on there.  Wink
Logged
Gogs
Altocumulus
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



WWW
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2008, 01:03:51 AM »

If you go onto the SCWN page and do right click on the image, then Properties the full URL will be on there.  Wink
Cheers mate, I am still learning.
Logged

Budgie
Administrator
Noctilucent
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 533



WWW
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2008, 01:49:27 AM »

When we stop learning it's time to give up.  Grin
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!